Face wash!

Hello beautifuls!  I hope you’re not facing the insufferable humidity that I currently am.  Straightening my hair today would be futile, given the fact that it would double quadruple in size within five minutes of me stepping outside.

As a quick update, I’ve added a new page that discusses the toxic ingredients that appear in many of our body products.  Right now, there are 25 ingredients listed; I will try to get the full 100-ingredient list up and running as soon as possible.

Anyway, today I’d like to discuss my recent experience with a new-to-me face wash.

I usually use Origins Checks and Balances face wash.  For some reason it works perfectly with my combination skin and I haven’t found anything else I like as much, but I spotted samples of Jurlique‘s Balancing Foaming Cleanser and grabbed a few from the spokesperson.

I was impressed by what’s in this cleanser!  It has a ton of plant ingredients and the fragrance is naturally derived (read a brief article about the dangers of fragrances in products here!) Since this product was not listed on the Cosmetics Database, I checked unfamiliar ingredients individually.  The first four ingredients (after water) are mostly low hazard, except for one – – which was medium hazard.  Other ingredients that I checked were all low hazard.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water); Decyl Polyglucoside; Cocamidopropyl Betaine; Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate; Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate; Glycerin; Chamomilla recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract; Calendula officinalis Flower Extract; Althaea officinalis (Marshmallow) Root Extract; Vitis vinifera (Grape Seed) Seed Extract; Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract; Hamamelis virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract; Rosa gallica Flower Extract; Bellis perennis (Daisy) Flower Extract; Prunella vulgaris (Self Heal) Flower Extract; Viola odorata (Violet) Extract; Curcuma longa (Turmeric) Root Extract; Spilanthes acmella Flower Extract; Honey; Lactic Acid; Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein; Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride; Fragrance (Parfum)*; Aloe barbadensis Leaf Extract; Alcohol; Sodium Chloride; Totarol; Citral*; Limonene*.
* From Natural Essential Oil (Grapefruit – Citrus grandis; Lemon – Citrus medica limonum; Lemon Myrtle – Backhousia citriodora; Peppermint – Mentha piperita)

What I thought: I LOVED it!  The product was liquidy but quickly foamed when I rubbed my hands together.  It was a thick, rich and bubbly foam that literally felt velvety when I put it on my face.  Also, I adored the smell.  It was bright, fresh and citrusy, tangy and sweet, and among the most delicious-smelling things I’ve ever put on my face.

Freshly squeezed...

Foamy!

When I got out of the shower, I felt like my skin had a radiant glow.  The oil was gone, but it didn’t feel dry.  Several hours later there was still no sign of oil, which is the real test (any product can get rid of oil for 5 minutes).  Imperfections on the skin seemed toned down.

The Bottom Line: A delicious, fabulous, foamy face wash!  I absolutely give it five out of five stars.  Only drawback: the $40 price tag.

What’s your favorite face wash?  Have you tried any Jurlique products?  How important are ingredients to you?

Ciao!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Face wash!

  1. Favorite face wash is Burt’s Bees Orange Essence. Love it, and so I bet I would love the smell of the Jurlique stuff. Thanks for the review! 🙂

  2. livelaughlovehopeeat says:

    I am obsessed with Kiehls products!!!! The facewash, toner and moisturizer…. and the eye cream. Never too early to worry about wrinkles!

  3. Right now I’m using Cetaphil. It was cheap at WalMart and I’ve heard it reviewed on YouTube countless times. I wish it would foam more (kinda like you were saying about the toothpaste sample you tried! Some things just NEED to foam to feel like they’re working! haha). Otherwise, it does a great job. I haven’t broken out since I started using it (mid to late Aug). So I’m a happy girl. 😀

  4. My favorite facewashs are: clinique and neutrogena

Leave a Reply

