Girl brushes teeth, provides feedback

This morning, I woke up early, thinking to myself, I really, really have to study for my chemistry exam. So what did I do?

Tested toothpaste, of course!

A few weeks ago, I picked up this sample of Kiss My Face’s whitening toothpaste with organic aloe vera gel.  I attempted to take a picture of the ingredients, but it came out blurry, so here they are:

Sorbitol, glycerin, hydrated silica, aqua, xylitol, aloe barbadensis leaf extract [organic], cetraria islandica (Iceland moss) extract, olea europaea (olive) leaf extract, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf oil, stevia rebaudina extract, flavor, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, methol, ammonium glycyrrhizate (licorice), xanthan gum, sodium methyl cocoyl taurate, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, chlorophyllin-copper comples, potassium sorbate.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t know what the hell some of that is, so I visited Skin Deep: Cosmetic Safety Reviews for enlightenment.

What Kiss My Face says: “This product contains no SLS, artificial colors, flavors, sweeteners, or animal ingredients and was not tested on animals.”

What Skin Deep says: NOTHING! The Cosmetics Database had an assessment of the old formula only, but I thought it might be useful anyway since the old formula had a lot of the same ingredients.  The old formula version of this toothpaste scored a 2 hazard level – out of 10, with only 7% of tooth whiteners having lower concerns.  Not bad, Kiss My Face!

So what do I say?

It looked exactly like aloe vera gel.  I liked that it tasted good and left my teeth feeling polished and looking white even though I’d just finished a cup of coffee.

However, it didn’t foam much – at all, and so when I finished brushing my teeth my whole mouth didn’t feel minty, which I think is important.

Where's the foam???

I wouldn’t switch from my current toothpaste, but it wasn’t bad.  Three out of five.  I’ll update you on the whitening after I brush a few more times with it.

So anyway, the below, NOT fake tanning, is the REAL reason for my skin’s slightly orange tint:Yellow, red, and orange bell peppers, a sweet potato, an orange, and edamame.Charming! [Yes, I painted my nails between these pictures.]

What’s your favorite natural toothpaste?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Girl brushes teeth, provides feedback

  1. Alexa Meany says:

    heyy! i don’t know that i’ve actually used a natural toothpaste! i’ve seen Tom’s plenty of times at the grocery store and now i’m thinking i’d love to give it a try. I went through a phase in 2nd or 3rd grade where mint toothpaste would irritate my skin so i had to order this strawberry banana kind ( i wish i still had it actually ;]) but nice to meet you! your blog has a great idea!

    alexa

  2. livelaughlovehopeeat says:

    hahahahahaha….. testing toothpaste! I love it!
    I haven’t used natural toothpaste…. crest or colgate all my life….
    But I am pretty sure you made me really want to try it!
    I will let you know if/ when I do!

  3. squigglefloey says:

    Hey dear 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog. And I’ll definitely be around yours more often!
    Congrats on entering the nursing program! Sounds tough…I’m not much of a chem/anatomy or bio student so I don’t think I’d survive too long there. haha…
    So are you from Illinois? I was actually born there in Urbana haha.
    Anyhow, happy 4th 🙂

    Floey

  4. ive tried a lot of good toothpastes and ive def tried this one which i didnt mind. i use auromere (not sure of exact spelling) its got clay in it lol.. but its really hippie and super earthy-like natural lol.

    love ur blog!! glad u found ur way to mine too 🙂 xoxo

  5. I’ve used natural toothpaste at my cousin’s house a few months ago. It seemed a little grainy. I’m totally down for using it again though! I really need something to help brighten up my teeth..pronto!
    I’m new to your blog and look forward to following ya 🙂

  6. jenna says:

    great blog!
    check out mineee 🙂
    jenna

Leave a Reply

